Getting Certified

More than 20 years after Linus Torvalds developed Linux, the operating system remains a force in the computing industry. While Linux is not widely used on desktops (making up just over 2.4% of the overall desktop operating system market share in January 2019, according to NetMarketShare), it is extraordinarily strong on the web server side, where it enjoys a market share of almost 54%.

IT professionals invest considerable time learning about server computing for everything from installation, configuration, maintenance and virtualization to application support and security. This also means that many IT professionals are working with and around Linux operating systems daily, often alongside Windows and various UNIX OS brands as well.

The best of the Linux certifications vie for considerable mindshare among IT professionals and present an interesting mix of distribution- or brand-agnostic credentials alongside some pretty formidable vendor-specific credentials. There are multiple well-elaborated certification ladders available to those interested in learning, using, and mastering the Linux operating system environment and all the many bells and whistles it supports.

What kind of certifications are there for Linux?

  • Comptia
    • Linux+ (LXO-193 & LXO-104)
    • Security+ (Not a Linux Cert but requires heavy Linux skill)
  • RedHat
    • RHCE (Redhat Certified Engineer)
    • RHCA (Red Hat Certified Architect)
  • Oracle
    • OCA (Oracle Certified Associate)
    • OCP (Oracle Certified Professional)
  • LPIC
    • LPIC- 1: Linux Administrator
    • LPIC- 2: Linux Engineer
    • LPIC- 3: Linux Enterprise Professional Certification
  • GCUX: GIAC Certified UNIX Security Engineer